The Rime of the Modern Mariner (Hardcover)

By Nick Hayes

Viking Books, 9780670025800, 336pp.

Publication Date: October 25, 2012

Advertisement

Description

An extraordinary, timely update on the classic Coleridge poem
Is it possible to update a masterpiece? Only, perhaps, with a brand-new masterpiece. Written in 1797, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner was the original eco-fable; drawn in 2010, "The Rime of the Modern Mariner" is a graphic novel, now set in the cesspool of the North Atlantic Garbage Patch thus adding a timely and resonant message about the destruction of our seas.
Hayes's visually striking debut is drawn with complex, iconic images reminiscent of old woodcuts. Emerging from every exquisite page are the poem's enduring themes: compassion for nature, a sense of connection among all living things, and rightful outrage at man's thoughtless destruction of the environment. Powerful and evocative, lush and stark, "The Rime of the Modern Mariner" will appeal to fans of Habibi and Persepolis.


About the Author

Nick Hayes is a political cartoonist for "The Guardian" and was a founding editor of "Meat Magazine," which showcased new writing, comics, and illustrations. He has won two "Guardian" media awards.
Advertisement