The Golden Specific (The Mapmakers Trilogy #2) (Hardcover)

By S. E. Grove

Viking Books for Young Readers, 9780670785032, 528pp.

Publication Date: July 14, 2015

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

The eagerly-awaited sequel to the best-selling The Glass Sentence -- a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman!

It is the summer of 1892, one year since Sophia Tims and her friend Theo embarked upon the dangerous adventure that rewrote the map of the world. Since their return home to Boston, she has continued searching for clues to her parents’ disappearance, combing archives and libraries, grasping at even the most slender leads. Theo has apprenticed himself to an explorer in order to follow those leads across the country—but one after another proves to be a dead end.
            Then Sophia discovers that a crucial piece of the puzzle exists in a foreign Age. At the same time, Theo discovers that his old life outside the law threatens to destroy the new one he has built with Sophia and her uncle Shadrack. What he and Sophia do not know is that their separate discoveries are intertwined, and that one remarkable person is part of both.
            There is a city that holds all of the answers—but it cannot be found on any map. Surrounded by plague, it can only be reached by a journey through darkness and chaos, which is at the same time the plague’s cure: The Golden Specific.


About the Author

S. E. Grove (www.segrovebooks.com) is a historian and world traveler. She is working on the third volume of the Mapmakers trilogy.


Praise For The Golden Specific (The Mapmakers Trilogy #2)

RAVES FOR THE GLASS SENTENCE

A New York Times Bestseller
An IndieBound National Bestseller
A Summer/Fall 2014 Indies Introduce New Voices Selection
A Top Ten Kid’s Next Selection
A Publishers Weekly Flying Start
A Washington Post Summer Book Club Selection
A Junior Library Guild Selection
One of Publishers Weekly’s Best Summer Reads
An Amazon Summer 2014 Reading Selection
An Amazon Top 20 Children’s/YA Book of 2014
An ABC Best Book of 2014


* “Brilliant in concept, breathtaking in scale and stellar in its worldbuilding; this is a world never before seen in fiction . . . Wholly original and marvelous beyond compare.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* “A thrilling, time-bending debut . . . It’s a cracking adventure, and Grove bolsters the action with commentary on xenophobia and government for hire, as well as a fascinating system of map magic.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review

*“Stellar . . richly layered and emotionally engaging from the first page through to the intriguing cliffhanger end.”—BCCB, starred review

* "A mind-blowing debut . . . The bookmaking behind this first novel is as elegant as the maps within it." —Shelf Awareness, starred review


“Wonderful. This author's imagination is just amazing.” – Nancy Pearl on NPR.org
 
“I am in no doubt about the energy of S.E. Grove as a full-fledged, pathfinding fantasist. I look forward to the next installment to place upon the pile. Intensely.” – Gregory Maguire, The New York Times Book Review
 
“Not since Philip Pullman's The Golden Compass have I seen such an original and compelling world built inside a book.”—Megan Whalen Turner, New York Times best-selling author of A Conspiracy of Kings
 
Absolutely marvelous.  It’s the best book I’ve read in a long time.”—Nancy Farmer, National Book Award-winning author of The House of the Scorpion

"A page-turner .  . So imaginative."—Meghan Cox Gurdon, The Wall Street Journal

“Exuberantly imagined [and] exquisite."—Elizabeth Wein, New York Times best-selling author of Code Name Verity