Peppe the Lamplighter (Hardcover)

By Elisa Bartone, Ted Lewin (Illustrator)

HarperCollins, 9780688102685, 32pp.

Publication Date: April 26, 1993

Advertisement

Description

In the tradition of Lois Lowry and Paul Fleischman, Elisa Bartone's Caldecott Honor-winning book gives children a glimpse into American history and the immigrant experience.

This is the story of Peppe, who becomes a lamplighter to help support his immigrant family in turn-of-the-century New York City, despite his papa's disapproval. Peppe's family is very poor, and though he is just a boy he needs to find work. Being a lamplighter is not the job his father had dreamed of for Peppe, but when Peppe's job helps save his little sister, he earns the respect of his entire family.

Supports the Common Core State Standards.

Advertisement