Don't All Thank Me at Once (Paperback)

By Brett Milano

125 Records, 9780692484692, 180pp.

Publication Date: November 10, 2015

List Price: 15.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


As the leader of Game Theory and The Loud Family, Scott Miller made some of the greatest pop music you never heard. He was one of the quintessential cult heroes, with critical praise to spare and famous songwriters singing his praises; and an internet following when there barely was an internet. The cult only grew after his sudden death in 2013. So if he was that great, why didn't you hear of him? This book tells the story. It's also the story of the college and indie rock explosion of the '80s and '90s, where everything seemed possible but some of the flagship artists still managed to fall through the cracks. Included here are revealing interviews with nearly every member of his bands, and renowned collaborators like producer Mitch Easter, Posies member Ken Stringfellow and songwriter Aimee Mann. Rare interviews attest to Miller's unique sensibility and sense of humor. Though his story took a tragic turn, this book celebrates a fascinating body of work and the complex individual who created it.