The North Western Fells (Paperback)

Wainwright's Walking Guide to the Lake District: Book 6 (Wainwright Walkers Edition)

By Alfred Wainwright, Clive Hutchby (Revised by)

White Lion Publishing, 9780711236592, 312pp.

Publication Date: April 30, 2019

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (4/27/2017)
Paperback (10/8/2015)
Paperback (3/8/2018)

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


One name above all others has become associated with walking in the Lake District: A. Wainwright, whose seven-volume Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells, first published in 1955–66, has become the definitive guidebook. Wainwright’s meticulously hand-drawn maps, diagrams and drawings take you up the 214 principal hills and mountains of the Lake District, describing the main routes of ascent from different starting points, as well as lesser-known variants, showing the summit viewpoint panoramas and the ridge routes that can be made to create longer walks. The North Western Fells, Book Six of Wainwright’s Walking Guide, covers the area between the rivers Derwent and Cocker, bordered by Crummock Water and Buttermere to the west and by Bassenthwaite Lake and Derwent Water to the east.  

About the Author

CLIVE HUTCHBY climbed his very first Lakeland fell just two years after the publication of the last of legendary fellwalker and guidebook writer Alfred.