Something’s Fishy (Hardcover)

By Jean Gourounas

Phaidon Press, 9780714875316, 40pp.

Publication Date: October 16, 2017

List Price: 16.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

This ice fishing mystery features a grumpy penguin, a troupe of curious onlookers, and a surprise ending!

An ice fishing penguin grows increasingly aggravated as his line fails to attract fish, but his activity attracts a cast of curiously chatty polar characters. Hilariously expressive animals and their repetitive questions dramatically accumulate until finally, in the climactic finale, the penguin hears something under the water, and everyone silences for the big reveal. A fast-paced and entertaining read-aloud that provides ample opportunity for character voices and multiple punchlines. Children will wager predictions throughout, and crack up at the clever and comical ending!



About the Author

Jean Gourounas is a French author-illustrator based in Saint-Etienne, France. He studied graphic design and worked as a graphic designer after university. He has written and illustrated over 15 children's books in France, but this is his first book in English.



Praise For Something’s Fishy

"An ice-fishing penguin gets grumpy when he fails to catch anything. I love the stylish graphics and deadpan humour, with echoes of Jon Klassen."—The Bookseller

"A fast-paced and entertaining read-aloud that provides ample opportunity for character voices and multiple punchlines. Children will wager predictions throughout, and crack up at the clever and comical ending!"—PrimaryTimes.net

"Will have children giggling and guessing throughout this perfect snowy story of Christmas-time"—Early Years Childcare Magazine

"French author/illustrator Jean Gourounas' clever picture book has a droll sense of humour and a surprise ending... Perfect for reading aloud... but increasing vocabulary will be an added bonus... A delightfully engaging story that is sure to become a firm favourite with young children and adults."—OutsideInWorld.org

"When it comes to books for young children I do like a simple catchy story that is fast paced with just a sentence or two a page and well illustrated. I'm delighted to say that the latest book I have to share from Phaidon Books does all of these things. Come and meet the Penguin and his friends on a fishing adventure in Something's Fishy... This snowy tale will be perfect for Christmas and last well beyond as the story lends itself to the repetition and retelling that appeals to kids."—CoombeMill.com

"This sly puzzle of a story by Jean Gourounas will delight readers and keep them guessing until the very end... Kids will giggle as the same questions and answers are asked over and over again in various ways, and don't be surprised when your little one adds the words "baffled", "perplexed", and "flummoxed" to their growing vocabulary."—Celebrate Pictures Books

"Fans of Jon Agee, Mac Barnett, and Jon Klassen will appreciate the wry, deadpan humor of both the playful story and the clever, distinctive illustrations. This is pure graphic and narrative genius."—School LIbrary Journal

"Deliciously deadpan, building up to a punch line to make tiny readers chuckle." —Gurgle

"Adorable... A fun, fast paced book with a variety of animal characters appearing with repetitive questioning. It's funny and allows plenty of opportunity for adult expressive acting!" —GlobalMouse.com

"A very nice production on thick textured paper, and the illustrations are stylish too... It's a daft idea, but a very charming story, and the repetitive questions of the animals are fun... Children will certainly learn a few alternative and expressive words about not understanding. Feathery snowflakes are falling on every page, and the stylized animals are cleverly drawn: there is a lot of character in the illustrations as some animals put paws on hips in exasperation." —ArmadilloMagazine.co.uk