Skip to main content


The Illusionist's Apprentice (Digital Audiobook)

By Kristy Cambron, Amy Rubinate (Narrator)

Publication Date: March 6, 2017

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (3/7/2017)
Hardcover, Large Print (4/19/2017)
Compact Disc (3/7/2017)
MP3 CD (3/7/2017)
Compact Disc (3/7/2017)

Description

Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician’s Lie.

Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to

escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor’s death, intent on burying her true identity.

But when a rival performer’s act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth—and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI’s investigation. All the while Houdini’s words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it’s what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface—and shatter her carefully controlled world.

“Prepare to be amazed by The Illusionist's Apprentice. Wren Lockhart, the talented magician at the heart of Kristy Cambron’s spellbinding tale of Jazz Age Boston, is the fierce, brilliant, guarded headliner you’ve been waiting for. This novel will have your pulse pounding and your mind racing to keep up with reversals, betrayals, and surprises from the first page to the last. Like her characters, Cambron works magic so compelling and persuasive, she deserves a standing ovation.” —Greer Macallister, USA TODAY bestselling author


  • Historical fiction with a dash of suspense

  • Stand-alone novel

  • Book length: 99,000 words

  • Also by author: The Paris Dressmaker, The Ringmaster’s Wife, The Painted Castle, and The Butterfly and the Violin