The Girl in Between (Hardcover)

By Sarah Carroll

Kathy Dawson Books, 9780735228603, 256pp.

Publication Date: June 20, 2017

Other Editions of This Title:
Compact Disc (10/24/2017)
Compact Disc (10/24/2017)
MP3 CD (10/24/2017)
Pre-Recorded Audio Player (4/1/2018)

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"A deeply moving story of family, homelessness, and the ghosts that won't let us go. Haunting and unforgettable."—Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Horses of Briar Hill


Told in the naïve voice of a homeless girl sheltered by her mother from the world, this is a moving debut perfect for fans of David Almond, A Monster Calls, and Room.


I'm invisible. Ma says I'm supposed to be so the Authorities don't get me. She goes out into the streets almost every day but I'm not allowed. I've got to stay inside the mill so they don't see me. 

In an old, abandoned mill, a girl and her ma take shelter from their memories of life on the streets, and watch the busy world go by. The girl calls it the Castle because it's the biggest place they've ever stayed, a home of her own like no other. The windows are boarded up and the floorboards are falling in, but for her neither of those things matter.

Then developers show up, and it's clear that their lives are about to change forever. Desperate to save their refuge from the Authorities and her mother from her own personal demons, the girl seeks out the ghosts of the mill. And with only Caretaker—the old man who's slept outside the mill for decades—around to answer her questions, she begins to wonder what kind of ghosts are haunting both the mill and her mother.

The Girl in Between is a compelling, witty, and at times heartbreaking novel that explores themes of loneliness and grief with effortless warmth and an unforgettable voice that will stick with you long after you've finished.


About the Author

Sarah Carroll currently splits her time between a houseboat in Dublin and travel abroad. She recently returned from five years in Tanzania, where she founded and ran a hostel while working to support local community projects. She continues to promote ethical overseas volunteering through her blogs and films while planning her next book. The Girl in Between is her debut novel.


Praise For The Girl in Between

"A deeply moving story of family, homelessness, and the ghosts that won't let us go. Haunting and unforgettable."—Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Horses of Briar Hill

"A skillful debut presents a nuanced view of homelessness. . . . heartbreakingly beautiful. . . . The blend of dark and lovely will appeal to David Almond fans."—Kirkus

"Carroll's lovely prose, laced with gothic imagery and canny clues, will carry readers through this slow-burning exploration of homelessness, the haunting hold of memory, and what it means to forget, to forgive, and, just maybe, to move on. Like the stories our unlikely heroine adores, this part fractured fairy tale, part fable is sure to cast a delightful yet devastating spell all its own."—Booklist

"Shines with true originality."—SLJ

"A poignant, heartbreaking, and, ultimately, healing debut novel. . . . This is a sensitive portrayal of a timely issue, presented in a unique and nonjudgmental fashion. The sorrow, futility, beauty, and, finally, hope will stay with the reader. This is for every reader who enjoys stories of family, love, and loss, mystery, and the power of hope and optimism."—VOYA