The Accidental Alchemist (Paperback)

By Gigi Pandian

Midnight Ink, 9780738741840, 360pp.

Publication Date: January 8, 2015

Advertisement

Description

From USA Today bestselling author Gigi Pandian comes a modern tale of ancient intrigue

Unpacking her belongings in her new hometown of Portland, Oregon, herbalist and reformed alchemist Zoe Faust can’t help but notice she’s picked up a stowaway. Dorian Robert-Houdin is a living, breathing three-and-half-foot gargoyle—not to mention a master of French cuisine—and he needs Zoe’s expertise to decipher a centuries-old text. Zoe, who’s trying to put her old life behind her, isn’t so sure she wants to reopen her alchemical past . . . until the dead man on her porch leaves her no choice.

Includes recipes Praise:

A 2016 Lefty Award winner for Best LCC Regional Mystery

“This reviewer is eagerly anticipating more from this series, and a return of a cast more fun than an episode of Portlandia.”—RT BOOK REVIEWS 1/2

“Pandian . . . launches a supernatural cozy series that hits high marks for a modern twist on an ancient practice. Amusing supporting characters and historical details solidify this engaging mystery.”—LIBRARY JOURNAL

" A] lighthearted supernatural mystery . . . Pandian sets this series apart from other fluffy paranormal mysteries with Zoe's cute nonhuman sidekick and some mouthwatering vegan recipes."—PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"A whimsical and charming supernatural mystery."—MYSTERY SCENE

“What really makes this book stand out, however, is the originality . . . Pandian has managed to create an eccentric and charming cast of characters readers are going to want to spend more time with.”—RT BOOK REVIEWS ONLINE

"The Accidental Alchemist is a recipe for a great read. Gigi Pandian’s pen never disappoints."—JULIET BLACKWELL, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE WITCHCRAFT MYSTERY SERIES

“Mysterious, captivating, and infused with the rich history of the Northwest . . . fantastic.”—PORTLAND BOOK REVIEW

"A magical, whimsical cozy that will delight readers who enjoy Juliet Blackwell and Heather Weber mysteries " —AVERY AAMES, AKA DARYL WOOD GERBER, AUTHOR OF THE CHEESE SHOP MYSTERIES

"Zoe and Dorian are my new favorite amateur-sleuth duo " —VICTORIA LAURIE, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR

"Readers won't want to put this book down."—Vegetarian Journal


About the Author

USA Today bestselling author Gigi Pandian (El Cerrito, CA) is the child of cultural anthropologists from New Mexico and the southern tip of India. After spending her childhood being dragged around the world, she now writes the Accidental Alchemist mysteries, the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt mysteries and locked-room mystery short stories. Gigi's first novel was named a Best of 2012 Debut Novel by Suspense Magazine, and her fiction has been awarded a Malice Domestic Grant and Lefty Awards.
Advertisement