It Takes a Village Idiot (Paperback)

A Memoir of Life After the City

By Jim Mullen

Simon & Schuster, 9780743218795, 224pp.

Publication Date: July 16, 2002

List Price: 16.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Finalist for the 2001 Thurber Prize for American Humor a Rocky Mountain News (Denver) Best Book of the Year
Millions of people dream of abandoning the city routine for a simple country life. Jim Mullen was not one of them. He loved his Manhattan existence: parties, openings, movie screenings. He could walk to hundreds of restaurants, waste entire afternoons at the Film Forum, people-watch from his window. Then, one day, calamity.
His wife quits smoking and buys a weekend house in the Catskill Mountains of upstate New York -- in a tiny town diametrically opposed to Manhattan in every way. Slowly, however, the man who once boasted, "Life is just a cab away," begins to warm to the place -- manure and compost and strangers who wave and all -- and to embrace the kind of life that once gave him the shakes.


About the Author

Jim Mullen writes the "Hot Sheet" column for Entertainment Weekly and has also written for The New York Times, New York magazine, and The Village Voice.


Praise For It Takes a Village Idiot: A Memoir of Life After the City

The Dallas Morning News Whether you spend your summer sipping lemonade on a porch swing or gripping a cuppa Joe on the subway, take this book along....Lighthearted and poignant.

Scott C. Yates Rocky Mountain News (Denver) A terrific blend of self-deprecating humor and trenchant observations about the funny side of life on both sides of the great urban-rural divide. Fans of Steve Martin or Dave Barry will love it.

Jonathan Yardley The Washington Post Book World Mullen is even funnier here [than in his Entertainment Weekly column].