Skip to main content


Give Way to Night (Aven Cycle #2)

Cass Morris

Hardcover

List Price: 27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Mass Market (10/5/2021)
MP3 CD (2/16/2021)

Description

The second book of the Aven Cycle explores a magical Rome-inspired empire, where senators, generals, and elemental mages vie for power.

Latona of the Vitelliae, mage of Spirit and Fire, is eager to wield her newfound empowerment on behalf of the citizens of Aven--but societal forces conspire to keep her from exercising her gifts, even when the resurgence of a banished cult plots the city's ruin. To combat this threat, Latona must ally with Fracture mage Vibia, the distrustful sister of Sempronius Tarren.

While Latona struggles to defend their home, Sempronius leads soldiers through wartorn provinces to lift the siege of Toletum, where Latona's brother Gaius is hemmed in by supernatural forces. Sempronius must contend not only with the war-king Ekialde and his sorcerers, but with the machinations of political rivals and the temptations of his own soul, ever-susceptible to the darker side of ambition.

Though separated by many miles soon after their love affair began, Latona and Sempronius are united by passion as they strive to protect Aven and build its glorious future.


Praise For Give Way to Night (Aven Cycle #2)

Praise for Give Way to Night:

"Give Way to Night delighted and enthralled me. It’s a fabulous and worthy sequel to my favorite “Rome with magic” novel, From Unseen Fire." —Kate Elliott, author of Unconquerable Sun

"The multilayered politics—both mundane and supernatural—will keep readers hooked. This is a satisfying return to the series." —Publishers Weekly

Praise for From Unseen Fire:


"'Rome with magic' turns out to be exactly the novel I wanted to read. The magic cleverly intertwines with religion, politics, and daily life. The characters appeal, especially the loving portrait of three loyal sisters. There are battles (of course), a budding love story of the illicit kind, some remarkably topical political maneuvering, an awareness of diverse layers of class and ethnicity, and a love of place that shines on the page." —Kate Elliott, author of Cold Magic and Black Wolves

"A unique and well-studied fantasy take on the Roman worldan alternate world of another name, where ambition is a driving force and magic is real." —C. J. Cherryh, Hugo-winning author of the Foreigner novels

"Cass Morris brings ancient Rome to life with all its particular details, passions, and political intrigue, and populates it with captivating characters. Then she sprinkles it with magic. Yeah, that’s the stuff."—Kristen Britain, New York Times bestselling author of the Green Rider novels

"Morris’ epic-fantasy debut melds Roman history and elemental magic into a spellbinding tale of political machinations.... Fans of I, Claudius and Game of Thrones are in for a treat in this series starter. The combination of history, dark and light magic, family, political and religious rivalry, and military conflicts will draw readers from many genres." —Booklist (starred review)

"Morris’ ambitious debut is rich in detail and intricate in its plotting." Barnes & Noble Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog

"From Unseen Fire is brilliantly imagined and plotted. Its world is rich, with no detail left unattended to. Cass Morris has generated Tolkien-level tomes of information about the world of Aven to make the world come alive." BookPage

DAW, 9780756412319, 448pp.

Publication Date: December 29, 2020



About the Author

Cass Morris works as an educator in central Virginia and as a bookseller on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. She holds a Master of Letters from Mary Baldwin University and a BA in English with a minor in history from the College of William and Mary. She reads voraciously, wears corsets voluntarily, and will beat you at MarioKart. Find her online at cassmorriswrites.com or on Twitter & Instagram @cassrmorris.