The Fenmere Job (Streets of Maradaine #3) (Mass Market)

By Marshall Ryan Maresca

DAW, 9780756414818, 400pp.

Publication Date: February 25, 2020

List Price: 8.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Mixing urban and high fantasy, the third Streets of Maradaine novel follows the crew of outlaws led by the Rynax brothers as they struggle to save Holver Alley from a new threat.

An uneasy calm has filled the neighborhood of North Seleth, as the survivors of the Holver Alley fire return to normal, honest lives. But Asti and Verci Rynax and the rest of the Holver Alley Crew know the peace won't last. Josie Holt, once an ally to the Rynaxes, is now working her own agenda with the mage circle that has moved into the neighborhood.

Asti learns that Josie plans to smuggle the drug efhân through North Seleth, which can only mean she is in league with the Fenmere cartel. The Rynax brothers want to wait for the right moment to strike at Josie, but they and the rest of the crew agree that they have to stop the efhân shipment, keep the drugs out of their neighborhood, and stop Fenmere from getting a toehold on the neighborhood.

One more problem: The Thorn. The vigilante from Fenmere's part of town has come to North Seleth, looking to burn Fenmere's whole empire down to ashes. When the Thorn's strike collides with the crew's operation, the delicate peace in the neighborhood crumbles, and an all-out war between mages, gangs, thieves, and the Thorn might fill the streets of Maradaine.


About the Author

Marshall Ryan Maresca's work has appeared in the Norton Anthology of Hint Fiction and Rick Klaw's anthology Rayguns Over Texas. His novels The Thorn of Dentonhill, A Murder of Mages, The Holver Alley Crew, and The Way of the Shield each begin their own fantasy series, all set in the port city of Maradaine.


Praise For The Fenmere Job (Streets of Maradaine #3)

Praise for the Maradaine universe:

“Maresca’s debut is smart, fast, and engaging fantasy crime in the mold of Brent Weeks and Harry Harrison. Just perfect.” —Kat Richardson, national bestselling author of Revenant

“Veranix is Batman, if Batman were a teenager and magically talented.... Action, adventure, and magic in a school setting will appeal to those who love Harry Potter and Patrick Rothfuss' The Name of the Wind.” ―Library Journal (starred) 

"Marshall Ryan Maresca is some kind of mad genius…. Not since Terry Pratchett’s Ankh Morpork have we enjoyed exploring every angle of an invented locale quite this much." —B&N Sci-fi & Fantasy Blog

"Maresca's second Streets of Maradaine novel features a complete and consistent fantasy world populated with lively characters." —Publishers Weekly

"Another exceptional book from MRM and adds yet another layer of vibrancy and depth to the ever expanding city of Maradaine. The Holver Alley Crew will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch or Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows." ―Powder & Page

“Take the caped avenger of Batman, the teenage-superhero angst of Spiderman, the street-gang bravado of West Side Story, and toss in the magic of Harry Potter, and what have you got? Marshall Ryan Maresca’s The Thorn of Dentonhill.” —Kings River Life Magazine

“Maresca brings the whole package, complete and well-constructed. If you’re looking for something fun and adventurous for your next fantasy read, look no further than The Thorn of Dentonhillan incredible start to a new series, from an author who is clearly on his way to great things.” —Bibliosanctum 

"Not many books make me want to jump inside the pages and live among the characters. The Holver Alley Crew was an addicting read." —Night Owl Reviews (top pick)

The Thorn of Dentonhill was a fast-paced read with action from start to finish. I loved every minute of it.” —Short and Sweet Reviews

Definitely a fun read, and one classic fantasy fans will likely enjoy.” —Bibliotropic

“So much of it is terribly exciting and fun.... What I really liked about the ending was how it set up relationships and possibilities for the next book (which I definitely plan on reading).” —Tenacious Reader