Blackfin Sky (Paperback)

By Kat Ellis

Running Press Kids, 9780762454013, 304pp.

Publication Date: September 2, 2014

List Price: 9.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

YALSA 2015 Popular Paperbacks Finalist for Mysteries: Murder, Mayhem, and Other Adventures

.

Just like any other morning, Skylar Rousseau is late for school, but when she is greeted by a blanket of silent stares upon entering Blackfin High, she discovers that the whole town thought she fell from the pier and drowned on her sixteenth birthday three months earlier. However, Sky remembers the last three months living her life as normal, and since she is a full, living breathing human being, she has no idea whose body is buried underneath her tombstone. Everyone seems reluctant to help except her steadfast friend and crush, Sean . . . and a secretive man who draws her to a mysterious circus in the woods.

Sky must wade through impossibilities and lies to discover the truth about what happened to her, which proves to be a bit difficult when someone is following her every move with the intent to harm her. And Sky's only hope of finding the answers she seeks may have already been turned to ashes.




About the Author

Kat Ellis grew up immersed in ancient myths about dragons and giants, and spending most of her time getting into trouble while exploring the local cemetery. Blackfin Sky is her debut novel. Ellis lives in Denbighshire, North Wales.



Praise For Blackfin Sky

“With convincing logic and a thrilling pace, Ellis spins out a vivid and eloquent tale in which the borders between past and present, experience and memory, and even life and death are porous. Each smart and well-rounded character, even the enigmatic adults, contributes cleverly to Ellis' purposeful plot. Hand this well-wrought mystery to fans of Libba Bray's Gemma Doyle series and E. Lockhart's rich writing.”
Booklist

"Fans of Lisa McMann and Gail Giles will welcome this debut thriller that immediately grabs readers with an intriguing premise."
Kirkus Reviews

“The book is so fast paced and engaging that readers will have a hard time putting it down. Fans of Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Boys trilogy will enjoy this great tale.”
VOYA

“This page-turner is sure to keep teens who love spooky sleuth novels up well into the night.”
School Library Journal

“[T]he dialogue-driven text might particularly appeal to readers of fast-paced, plot-driven thrillers.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books