Skip to main content


Joan D. Vinge


List Price: 27.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


CAT: Street Punk, Psion, Telepath, Survivor. . .

Kidnapped by an interstellar corporation and dragged to Earth, Cat is forced to use his skills to protect those he most hates, those who most hate him . . . .

The taMings. A cyber-augmented, DNA-incestuous clan of such wealth and power that their family arguments change the destiny of worlds. Now one taMing is a killer's target. But which? And who would dare?

Seeking answers, Cat finds lies and savagery, passion and atrocity--trails that lead from crystal valleys to clubs for silver-skinned beauties. From the homicidal enclaves of drug kings to a fanatic's pulpit. From the halls of the Assembly to a cyberspace hell. Seeking assassins, Cat discovers a mystery that could cost him his future. His sanity. His life.

Because Cat is no longer a bodyguard . . .

He's bait.

Praise For Catspaw

“First-rate suspense! One of the top science fiction books of the year.” —Seattle Times/Post-Intelligencer

“Intense, fast-paced intrigue.” —Locus

“Joan Vinge makes a welcome return to large-scale science fiction . . . a well-told, entertaining tale.” —Chicago Sun-Times

“Outstanding.” —C. J. Cherryh

Tor Books, 9780765303417, 416pp.

Publication Date: November 23, 2002

About the Author

Joan D. Vinge wrote the Hugo Award bestseller The Snow Queen, sequels including the Hugo finalist The Summer Queen and the Nebula finalist World's End, and the Cat series. She's written more than a dozen movie adaptations, including the #1 bestseller The Return of The Jedi Storybook. She lives in Madison, Wisconsin.