The Beloved Dead (Hardcover)

By Tony Hays

Forge Books, 9780765326287, 400pp.

Publication Date: March 29, 2011

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (8/15/2017)

List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Malgwyn ap Cuneglas was one of King Arthur’s earliest companions and now is his most trusted counselor.  Despite the malice of his enemies, who fear Arthur’s power, and the machinations of the still powerful druids who mightily resist him, Malgwyn knows that Arthur will stop at nothing in his efforts to lead his people to Christ and help to bring civil law and justice to a people who have known little such.

To consolidate his power, Arthur decides that it is time to take a noble wife.  But in this Malgwyn knows not only his lord’s ambition but his personal grief, because in order to take a queen Arthur must set aside his love Guinevere, because he believes that the scandal surrounding their affair has tainted her for the crown. 

Malgwyn is sent north to fetch the young woman who is to be Arthur’s bride.  The way is fraught with tension and disaster for there are forces who would not see the king wed.  When Malgwyn discovers a string of killings involving young virginal women who are slaughtered in a horrific manner—not unlike a ritual sacrifice—he is left with a question that he must answer quickly. 

Are these murders portents of the gods taking vengeance on the intrusion of a new faith? 

Or mortal men plotting to unseat the king?

 



About the Author

"The Beloved Dead" is Tony Hays's third book in his much acclaimed Arthurian mystery series. Hays is a former journalist who has covered topics as varied as narcotics trafficking (earning his newspaper the Tennessee Press Association award for Public Service in 2000), political corruption, Civil War history, and the war on terror. He currently resides in Tennessee.


Praise For The Beloved Dead

“Medieval mystery fans and readers who enjoy Peter Tremayne, Cora Harrison, and Bernard Cornwell will love this.”—Library Journal, starred review on The Divine Sacrifice

 “This heady concoction of suspense and legend will appeal to a broad cross-section of historical-fiction and whodunit fans.”—Booklist on The Divine Sacrifice

“Sure to appeal to fans of medieval intrigues and stirring battles.”—Kirkus Reviews on The Divine Sacrifice

“Political intrigue and ancient superstition loom large in this excellent mystery…History buffs as well as mystery fans will be amply rewarded.”—Publishers Weekly, starred review on The Killing Way



Book Videos