Skip to main content
Cover for The Price of War

The Price of War

An Autumn War, The Price of Spring (Long Price Quartet)

Daniel Abraham


List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Otah Machi, caught between ancient wonders and a modern empire, has survived more than most men endure in two lifetimes. In Price of War, an omnibus collection of An Autumn War and The Price of Spring, magic and treacherous politics bring a bitter harvest of violence and tragedy to the world he must defend.

But when all is darkest and the world seems utterly lost, there is yet hope for the salvation of a future yet undiscovered. All depends on Otah, and those with the power to shape it, if they can find the courage to forgive their own trespasses and redeem their lost hopes.

This unforgettable fantasy epic series, the Long Price Quartet, marks Daniel Abraham as a unique voice and one of the most enthralling fantasy writers to emerge in recent years.

Praise For The Price of War: An Autumn War, The Price of Spring (Long Price Quartet)

A Betrayal in Winter is exactly the kind of book I love.” —Brandon Sanderson, bestselling author of The Alloy of Law

“A thoroughly engrossing debut novel from a major new fantasist.” —George R. R. Martin, bestselling author of A Game of Thrones, on A Shadow in Summer

“There is much to love in the Long Price Quartet. It is epic in scope but character centered, with a setting both unique and utterly believable. The storytelling is smooth, careful, and--best of all--unpredictable.” —Patrick Rothfuss, bestselling author of The Name of the Wind

“Daniel Abraham will lead you into a strange, seductive world. Intricate, elegant, and almost hypnotically told, this tale of gods held captive will hold you captive, too.” —Connie Willis, Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author

Orb Books, 9780765333650, 576pp.

Publication Date: November 27, 2012

About the Author

Daniel Abraham has had stories published in the Vanishing Acts, Bones of the World, and The Dark anthologies, and has also been included in Gardner Dozois's Year's Best Science Fiction anthology.  He won the International Horror Writers Association award for best short fiction for his story “Flat Diane.” His books include The Long Price Quartet, starting with A Shadow in Summer. He lives in New Mexico with his wife and daughter.