He Drank, and Saw the Spider (Hardcover)

By Alex Bledsoe

Tor Books, 9780765334145, 317pp.

Publication Date: January 14, 2014

List Price: 24.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files and Glen Cook's Garrett PI novels, comes the newest installment in Alex Bledsoe's Eddie LaCrosse series, "He Drank and Saw the Spider."
After he fails to save a stranger from being mauled to death by a bear, a young mercenary is saddled with the baby girl the man died to protect. He leaves her with a kindly shepherd family and goes on with his violent life.

Now, sixteen years later, that young mercenary has grown up to become cynical sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse. When his vacation travels bring him back to that same part of the world, he can't resist trying to discover what has become of the mysterious infant.

He finds that the child, now a lovely young teenager named Isadora, is at the center of complicated web of intrigue involving two feuding kings, a smitten prince, a powerful sorceress, an inhuman monster, and long-buried secrets too shocking to imagine. And once again she needs his help.

They say a spider in your cup will poison you, but only if you see it. Eddie, helped by his smart, resourceful girlfriend Liz, must look through the dregs of the past to find the truth about the present and risk what might happen if he, too, sees the spider.



About the Author

ALEX BLEDSOE is the author of four previous Eddie LaCrosse novels, The Sword-Edged Blonde, Burn Me Deadly, Dark Jenny, and Wake of the Bloody Angel.