Ender's Game Boxed Set II (Multiple copy pack)

Ender's Game, Ender in Exile, Speaker for the Dead (The Ender Quintet)

By Orson Scott Card

Tor Science Fiction, 9780765374820

Publication Date: October 1, 2013

Other Editions of This Title:
Multiple copy pack (10/1/2013)

List Price: 23.97*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Orson Scott Card's classic and worldwide bestselling Ender Quintet series won the Hugo and Nebula awards! Included in this boxed set: Ender's Game, Ender in Exile, and Speaker for the Dead

Ender’s Game is an international bestseller, read and loved by generations. It has been named one of the top ten science fiction novels of all time. Andrew “Ender” Wiggin thinks he is playing computer simulated war games, at Earth’s elite military academy, the Battle School; he is, in fact, engaged in something far more desperate. Ender may be the military genius Earth desperately needs in a war against an inscrutable alien that seeks to destroy all human life. Ender Wiggin is six years old when it begins. He will grow up fast.

Ender’s story continues in Speaker for the Dead, Orson Scott Card’s award-winning sequel. Ender Wiggin has run far and fast, using the effects of near-light-speed travel to out-live his past and become nearly anonymous. He is now the Speaker for the Dead, the author of The Hive Queen and The Hegemon, and he has come to the planet Lusitania to tell the truth about a man’s life at his graveside.

Ender in Exile is the story of Ender’s first voyage from Earth, and his first arrival on a former Formic colony. In the confined world of the colony ship, Ender’s diplomatic and tactical genius are put to the test against an enemy he cannot kill. This novel falls immediately after Ender's Game in chronological sequence, but was written long after Children of the Mind, and the books of the Shadow series. You can read it at any point after Ender's Game

About the Author

Orson Scott Card is best known for his science fiction novel Ender's Game and its many sequels that expand the Ender Universe into the far future and the near past. Those books are organized into the Ender Quintet, the five books that chronicle the life of Ender Wiggin; the Shadow Series, that follows on the novel Ender's Shadow and are set on Earth; and the Formic Wars series, written with co-author Aaron Johnston, that tells of the terrible first contact between humans and the alien "Buggers." Card has been a working writer since the 1970s. Beginning with dozens of plays and musical comedies produced in the 1960s and 70s, Card's first published fiction appeared in 1977--the short story "Gert Fram" in the July issue of The Ensign, and the novelette version of "Ender's Game" in the August issue of Analog. The novel-length version of Ender's Game, published in 1984 and continuously in print since then, became the basis of the 2013 film, starring Asa Butterfield, Harrison Ford, Ben Kingsley, Hailee Steinfeld, Viola Davis, and Abigail Breslin. Card was born in Washington state, and grew up in California, Arizona, and Utah. He served a mission for the LDS Church in Brazil in the early 1970s. Besides his writing, he runs occasional writers' workshops and directs plays. He frequently teaches writing and literature courses at Southern Virginia University.

He is the author many sf and fantasy novels, including the American frontier fantasy series "The Tales of Alvin Maker" (beginning with Seventh Son). There are also stand-alone science fiction and fantasy novels like Pastwatch and Hart's Hope. He has collaborated with his daughter Emily Card on a manga series, Laddertop. He has also written contemporary thrillers like Empire and historical novels like the monumental Saints and the religious novels Sarah and Rachel and Leah. Card's recent work includes the Mithermages books (Lost Gate, Gate Thief), contemporary magical fantasy for readers both young and old. Card lives in Greensboro, North Carolina, with his wife, Kristine Allen Card. He and Kristine are the parents of five children and several grandchildren.