The Unfortunates (Hardcover)

By Kim Liggett

Tom Doherty Associates, 9780765381002, 224pp.

Publication Date: July 10, 2018

List Price: 18.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

For Fans of Riverdale and Pretty Little Liars, a haunting tale of privilege, guilt, and redemption from the author of the Bram Stoker Award winner, The Last Harvest

When seventeen-year-old senator's son Grant Tavish is involved in a fatal accident, all he wants to do is face the consequences of what he's done. But those consequences never come, even if headlines of "affluenza" do. The truth soon becomes clear: due to his father's connections, Grant is going to get away with murder.

As a family tradition approaches, a cave excursion on the Appalachian Trail, Grant seizes the opportunity to take justice into his own hands by staging an accident and never coming back. But before he has a chance to enact his plans, the cave system collapses, trapping him miles beneath the surface with four other teens from much less fortunate circumstances. As they struggle to survive, they share their innermost secrets and fears, and just when it seems they might be on track to finding a way out, they realize...

There's something else down there.

And it's hunting them.



About the Author

At sixteen, Kim Liggett left her rural midwestern town for New York City to pursue a career in music. Along with lending her voice to hundreds of studio recordings, she was a backup singer for some of the biggest rock bands in the 80s. She is the author of Blood and Salt, Heart of Ash, and The Last Harvest, winner of the 2017 Bram Stoker Award.