To Catch a Killer (Hardcover)

A Novel (Erin Blake #1)

By Sheryl Scarborough

Tor Teen, 9780765381910, 320pp.

Publication Date: February 7, 2017

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

“A twisty, cold-case mystery custom made for fans of Sara Shepard, PLL and Veronica Mars! The edge-of-your-seat plot, sinister backstory and smart, brave and irreverent main character made this whodunit unputdownable.”—Justine Magazine

In To Catch a Killer, a contemporary mystery by debut author Sheryl Scarborough, a teenage girl uses forensic science to solve the cold-case murder of her mother. Erin Blake has one of those names. A name that is inextricably linked to a grisly crime. As a toddler, Erin survived for three days alongside the corpse of her murdered mother, and the case—which remains unsolved—fascinated a nation. Her father's identity unknown, Erin was taken in by her mother's best friend and has become a relatively normal teen in spite of the looming questions about her past.

Fourteen years later, Erin is once again at the center of a brutal homicide when she finds the body of her biology teacher. When questioned by the police, Erin tells almost the whole truth, but never voices her suspicions that her mother's killer has struck again in order to protect the casework she's secretly doing on her own.

Inspired by her uncle, an FBI agent, Erin has ramped up her forensic hobby into a full-blown cold-case investigation. This new murder makes her certain she's close to the truth, but when all the evidence starts to point the authorities straight to Erin, she turns to her longtime crush (and fellow suspect) Journey Michaels to help her crack the case before it's too late.



About the Author

SHERYL SCARBOROUGH is an award-winning writer for children’s television, having written for shows such as Kim Possible, Doug, Tiny Toon Adventures and Punky, among many other credits. She is the author of mystery novel To Catch a Killer. She holds an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts, lives in Washington state, and has always had an obsession with forensics. When she was twelve, her home was the target of a Peeping Tom. Sheryl diligently photographed his footprints and collected the candy wrappers he left behind. Unfortunately, he was never caught. But the desire to use evidence to solve a great mystery was sparked inside Scarborough all the same.


Praise For To Catch a Killer: A Novel (Erin Blake #1)

“A twisty, cold-case mystery custom made for fans of Sara Shepard, PLL and Veronica Mars! The edge-of-your-seat plot, sinister backstory and smart, brave and irreverent main character made this whodunit unputdownable.”—Justine Magazine

“Scarborough’s steely, vulnerable sleuth is at her bestwhen in dogged pursuit. A didn’t-see it-coming finish for forensics fansand converts.”—New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia

“A compulsive read. Scarborough has created a thrillingbook brimming with life, murder, and adventure.”—Carrie Jones, New York Times bestselling author of Flying

To Catch a Killeris a tense, storming heartbeat of a thriller. Scarborough’s tightly woven storymerges forensic intrigue with friendship, romance, and family, nailing thedynamic stylings of Veronica Mars and the playful spirit of Bones. I could notput it down.”—Cori McCarthy, author of Breaking Sky

“A relatable cast and well thought-out plot make thismystery a Sherlockian puzzle sure to impress the most hardened crime-proceduralfanatic. Don your deer-stalker caps, gumshoes, you’re in for a twistyride.”—Mary Elizabeth Summer, author of Trust Me, I’m Lying

“Erin and her friends dished up romance, pizza, and aheap of deliciously fun forensic knowledge, plus a couple of thrilling murdermysteries that kept me sitting on my hands so as not to sneak a peek at itsconclusion. It was worth the wait!”—Estelle Laure, author of This Raging Light