To Catch a Killer (Erin Blake #1) (Paperback)

By Sheryl Scarborough

Tor Teen, 9780765381927, 336pp.

Publication Date: February 27, 2018

List Price: 9.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

"A twisty, cold-case mystery custom made for fans of Sara Shepard, PLL and Veronica Mars The edge-of-your-seat plot, sinister backstory and smart, brave and irreverent main character made this whodunit unputdownable."--Justine Magazine

In To Catch a Killer, a contemporary mystery by debut author Sheryl Scarborough, a teenage girl uses forensic science to solve the cold-case murder of her mother. Erin Blake has one of those names. A name that is inextricably linked to a grisly crime. As a toddler, Erin survived for three days alongside the corpse of her murdered mother, and the case--which remains unsolved--fascinated a nation. Her father's identity unknown, Erin was taken in by her mother's best friend and has become a relatively normal teen in spite of the looming questions about her past.

Fourteen years later, Erin is once again at the center of a brutal homicide when she finds the body of her biology teacher. When questioned by the police, Erin tells almost the whole truth, but never voices her suspicions that her mother's killer has struck again in order to protect the casework she's secretly doing on her own.

Inspired by her uncle, an FBI agent, Erin has ramped up her forensic hobby into a full-blown cold-case investigation. This new murder makes her certain she's close to the truth, but when all the evidence starts to point the authorities straight to Erin, she turns to her longtime crush (and fellow suspect) Journey Michaels to help her crack the case before it's too late.



About the Author

Sheryl Scarborough worked as a writer, story editor, and series developer in children's television before receiving her MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adult from Vermont College, where she studied under Rita Williams-Garcia, Tom Birdseye, Susan Fletcher, and A.M. Jenkins, among others. She lives and works in Kalama, Washington. To Catch a Killer is her debut.