Skip to main content
Cover for The Six National Histories of Japan

The Six National Histories of Japan

Taro Sakamoto


List Price: 93.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


The Six National Histories of Japan chronicle the history of Japan from its origins in the 'Age of the Gods' to A.D. 887. Compiled in the imperial court during the eighth and ninth centuries by leading scholars and officials of the day, they have exerted a profound effect on Japanese thought for well over a millenium. In his book, renowned historian Taro Sakamoto interpreted modern scholarly findings, as well as presenting his own views, thus completing the modern re-evaluation of the controversial first history. His study is the only one to survey all six histories, identifying common features and pointing out the special characteristics of each. John Brownlee's translation makes available to English readers a valuable study of the Six National Histories which also provides insights into the methods of contemporary Japanese historians.

University of British Columbia Press, 9780774803793, 260pp.

Publication Date: January 1, 1991