Skip to main content
Cover for The Collected Stories of Edith Wharton

The Collected Stories of Edith Wharton

Edith Wharton (Editor), Anita Brookner (Introduction by)


List Price: 26.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Combining two volumes of Wharton's short stories in a brand new edition, this outstanding selection is the most comprehensive available. Although Edith Wharton is best known for her novels The Age of Innocence and The House of Mirth, this extensive collection of her short fiction shows her to be a master of all its varieties.

"Wharton's stories . . . owe their enduring power to portray the emotional consequences of life in a rarefied world." -- New York Times

Da Capo Press, 9780786711123

Publication Date: December 16, 2002

About the Author

Edith Wharton (1862-1937) was an American novelist, short story writer, playwright, and designer. She drew upon her insider's knowledge of New York's upper class to realistically portray their lives and morals in the Gilded Age. She was the first woman to win the Pulitzer Prize for Literature in 1921.

Anita Brookner is the Booker Prize-winning author of The Hotel du Lac. She lives in England.