The Borderland (Paperback)

A Novel of Texas

By Edwin Shrake

Hachette Books, 9780786884933, 438pp.

Publication Date: April 25, 2001

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (4/5/2000)

List Price: 19.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In the bestselling tradition of Larry McMurtry, a sweeping novel that tells the tale of how mighty Texas was born--now available in paperback.]

In this epic novel set in 1839, author Edwin Shrake, himself a Texan, presents a portrait of Texas as it was, a borderland between civilization and the unknown. There were fortunes to be made, vast areas of land to be gained, and battles to be fought and won. Skillfully woven into the action-filled narrative are true historical figures, wrenching love stories, and riveting battle scenes--all ingredients of superb historical fiction. Fans of Louis L'Amour and Patrick O'Brian will be enthralled by this Texas magnum opus.


About the Author

Novelist and screenwriter Edwin Shrake is the co-author of the best-selling sports book of all time, Harvey Penick's Little Red Book. In addition to his novels--including the acclaimed Texas story Blessed McGill--and his work with the Dallas Morning News and Sports Illustrated, Shrake has written bestselling biographies and several feature films. He lives in Austin, Texas.