Skip to main content

The Garden Party

And Other Plays (Havel)

Vaclav Havel, Vaaclav Havel


List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Gathered together here for the first time are seven plays that span Havel's career from his early days at the Theater of the Balustrade through the Prague Spring, Charter 77, and the repeated imprisonments that made Havel's name into a rallying cry and propelled him to the leadership of his country. They include The Garden Party, The Increased Difficulty of Concentration, Mistake, the Vanek trilogy of Audience, Unveiling, and Protest, and the first fully corrected English version of The Memorandum--the play that won Havel the Obie for Best Foreign Play in 1968.

Grove Press, 9780802133076, 273pp.

Publication Date: January 18, 1994