Skip to main content

Women in Love and Other Dramatic Writings

Women in Love, Sissies' Scrapbook, a Minor Dark Age, Just Say No, the Farce in Just Saying No

Larry Kramer, Frank Rich (Foreword by)


List Price: 16.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Larry Kramer has been described by Susan Sontag as one of America's most valuable troublemakers. As Frank Rich writes in his Foreword to this new collection of writings for the screen and stage, his plays are almost journalistic in their observation of the fine-grained documentary details of life ... that may well prove timeless. The title work, the Oscar-nominated screenplay for Women in Love, is a movie as sensuous as anything you've probably ever seen on film (The New York Times). The screenplay is accompanied by Kramer's reflections on the history of the production, sure to be of interest to any student of film. This volume also includes several early plays, Sissies' Scrapbook, A Minor Dark Age, and the political farce Just Say No, illuminating the development of one of our most important literary figures. Since his screenplay for Women in Love, Kramer has been a prophet of psychic health and catastrophe among us. -- from The American Academy of Arts and Letters citation.

Grove Press, 9780802139160, 352pp.

Publication Date: January 24, 2003

About the Author

Larry Kramer (1935-2020) was a writer and activist. In 1981, with five friends, he founded Gay Men's Health Crisis, and in 1987 he founded ACT UP. He is the author of The Normal Heart, which in 2014 was made into an Emmy-winning TV adaptation by HBO. His other plays include The Destiny of Me, Sissies' Scrapbook, and Just Say No, and his prose work includes The American People Volumes 1 & 2, the novel Faggots, two nonfiction books, and a screenplay, Women in Love. He was a recipient of the Award in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the PEN/Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater Award for a Master American Dramatist, and the Isabelle Stevenson Award, presented by the Tony Awards Committee.