Skip to main content

Four Novels

The Square, Moderato Cantabile, 10:30 on a Summer Night, the Afternoon of Mr. Andesmas (Duras)

Marguerite Duras, Germaine Brée (Introduction by), Richard Seaver (Translator)


List Price: 17.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


In this volume of four short novels, Duras demonstrates her remarkable ability to create an emotional intensity and unity by focusing on the intimate details of the relationships among only a few cental characters: from the park bench couple in The Square (1955) to the double love triangle in 10:30 on a Summer Night (1960), each novel probes the depths and complexities of human emotion, of love and of despair. Exceptional for their range in mood and situation, these four novels are unparalleled exhibitions of a poetic beauty that is uniquely Duras.

Grove Press, 9780802151117, 254pp.

Publication Date: January 13, 1994