Two Bobbies (Hardcover)

A True Story of Hurricane Katrina, Friendship, and Survival

By Kirby Larson, Mary Nethery, Jean Cassels (Illustrator)

Bloomsbury USA Childrens, 9780802797544, 32pp.

Publication Date: September 1, 2008

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Fall 2008 Kids' List

“The touching true story of Bob and Bobbi, a cat and dog who join forces to survive Hurricane Katrina. How wonderful to find an age-appropriate, moving, beautifully drawn story that brings this national tragedy back into our consciousness.”
— Karen Maeda Allman, The Elliott Bay Book Company, Seattle, WA
View the List

Description

from Newbery award winning author Kirby Larson comes a remarkable true story of the devotion, friendship, and survival of two pets left behind in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. In the tradition of Owen and Mzee, this beautiful picture book is a testament to the spirit that defined post-Katrina rescue missions.

During Hurricane Katrina, evacuating New Orleans residents were forced to leave their pets behind. Bobbi the dog was initially chained to keep her safe, but after her owners failed to return, she had to break free. For months, Bobbi wandered the city's ravaged streets-dragging her chain behind her-followed by her feline companion, Bob Cat. After months of hunger and struggle, the Two Bobbies were finally rescued by a construction worker helping to rebuild the city. When he brought them to a shelter, volunteers made an amazing discovery about the devoted friends-Bob Cat was actually blind! He had survived the aftermath of the storm by following the sound Bobbi's chain made as she dragged it along the ground.

At the shelter, the two bob-tailed friends refused to be parted, even for a moment. Could rescue workers find the Bobbies' owners? Or could they find a new home that would take them together?



About the Author

Jean Cassels has illustrated more than fifty natural history books for children. She is the illustrator of Cats to the Rescue. She lives in New Orleans, Louisiana.