Switch (Hardcover)

By Ingrid Law

Dial Books, 9780803738621, 368pp.

Publication Date: September 1, 2015

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Ingrid Law delivers another heartwarming story about the magic of friendship and the power of family in this companion to her Newbery Honor winning Savvy

Gypsy Beaumont has always been a whirly-twirly free spirit, so as her thirteenth birthday approaches, she hopes to get a magical ability that will let her fly, or dance up to the stars. Instead, she wakes up on her birthday with blurry vision . . . and starts seeing flashes of the future and past. But when Momma and Poppa announce that her very un-magical, downright mean Grandma Pat has Alzheimer’s and is going to move in with them, Gypsy’s savvy—along with her family’s—suddenly becomes its opposite. Now it’s savvy mayhem as Gypsy starts freezing time, and no one could have predicted what would happen on their trip to bring Grandma Pat home  . . . not even Gypsy.
 
With her trademark style and whimsical, beautiful language, Ingrid Law has written another wonderfully moving companion to her Newbery Honor winning Savvy.


About the Author

Ingrid Law is the New York Times bestselling author of two novels for young readers, Savvy and Scumble. Ingrid's books have been placed on more than 30 state reading lists, and have earned accolades from Publishers Weekly, Oprah's reading list, the Today Show's Al Roker's Book Club for Kids, and the Smithsonian. Savvy was named a Newbery Honor book in 2009. She lives in Lafayette, Colorado.


Praise For Switch

Praise for Switch:

"Law has again told a story with as much heart as creativity." –SLJ

"Readers will be caught up in this snowy, magical adventure." –Booklist

"Clever plotting and amiable characters once again enable Law to produce a winning story." –BCCB 

"Fans of Savvy and Scumble will love this book. It is a great classroom read-aloud for upper grade levels."–SLC 

Savvy Accolades:
Newbery Honor – Winner
ALA Notable Children's Book
Boston Globe-Horn Book Award – Honor
New York Times bestseller
Savvy and Scumble have been nominated for over 30 state awards
Oprah's reading list pick
Al Rocker's Book Club for Kids selection

Scumble Accolades:
New York Times bestseller
Kid's Next List selection
Kansas State Reading Circle Recommended Read
A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books Selection
A Smithsonian  Notable Book for Children