Pilfer Academy (Hardcover)

A School So Bad It's Criminal

By Lauren Magaziner

Dial Books, 9780803739192, 272pp.

Publication Date: February 16, 2016

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Fans of Spy SchoolEscape From Mr. Lemencello’s Library and Roald Dahl will gobble up this hilarious story about a secret boarding school for thieves-in-training!

Troublemaking George has never heard of Pilfer Academy, a top-secret school for cultivating young crooks, until he's kidnapped as its newest student. The teachers are kooky at best, and naughty does not even begin to describe his sneaky, smart, and morally bankrupt new classmates. Between disguise classes, cracking safes, and DIY gadgets, George becomes an expert bandit and finds true friendship with Tabitha, his new partner-in-crime. But everything is ruined when George comes to a shocking realization: He is just too good-hearted to be a thief! 

Unfortunately, not thieving is not an option at Pilfer Academy, and "misbehaving" students face Dean Deanbugle's favorite punishment—the Whirlyblerg! In order to gain their freedom, George and Tabitha must pull the biggest heist the school has ever seen and reveal their true colors not as thieves, but as kind (and, okay, mischievous) kids.


About the Author

Lauren Magaziner is originally from New Hope, Pennsylvania, and recently graduated from Hamilton College. Her first book, The Only Thing Worse Than Witches, was an Indie Next List Pick. Lauren lives in Brooklyn, New York, where she writes full time.


Praise For Pilfer Academy: A School So Bad It's Criminal

Praise for Pilfer Academy:

"Magaziner creates another weird and silly world that mirrors Hogwarts without the magic...A fun fantasy romp."—Kirkus Reviews

"Humorous and engaging. This is an ideal choice for readers who wish boarding school books had a little more mischief."—Booklist
 
"
School-story buffs with a taste for absurd, off-kilter humor will find this a welcome addition to the mix."—BCCB


Praise for The Only Thing Worse Than Witches

*
"Combines Roald Dahl's Witches and Louis Sachar's Wayside School....readers will banish themselves from the ordinary world to finish this book in a flash."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"A rollicking tale...first-time novelist Lauren Magaziner fashions a rich and compelling alternative reality."—The Chicago Tribune

"Magaziner’s debut has echoes of Dahl’s Matilda... a fun, frothy story that will, well, charm its readers."—Publishers Weekly

"Mrs. Frabbleknacker is as awful as her name, with antics reminiscent of scenes from Louis Sachar’s Sideways Stories from Wayside School gone wrong."—School Library Journal

"Ideal for middle-grade readers who love Roald Dahl’s Matilda (1988) and enjoy humor with their fantasy, this debut novel is madcap and fantastical. It’s the perfect thing for kids not quite ready for Diane Duane or Madeleine L’Engle."—Booklist

"The kids’ slowly forming friendship has real grace and authenticity...Eva Ibbotson fans will appreciate the quirky humor."—BCCB

"This hilarious, light-hearted debut would be a great read-aloud for middle grade classrooms."—Library Media Connection