Skip to main content


Cat in the City

Julie Salamon, Jill Weber (Illustrator)

Hardcover

List Price: 16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

A tender and beautifully illustrated debut children’s book from a New York Times bestselling team

A city savvy stray cat named Pretty Boy has always managed to make it on his own. He’s as vain as they come, and he won’t admit to being dependent on anyone. But as he discovers the pleasures of friendship, he learns that home really is where the heart is. Or, at the very least, home is where his friends are. And with friends all around New York City, Pretty Boy will always have a place to call home.

The author and illustrator team who brought us the New York Times bestseller The Christmas Tree introduce an unforgettable animal adventure in the tradition of A Cricket in Times Square and The One and Only Ivan. The result is a story that will captivate readers of all ages with its warmth and wit.


Praise For Cat in the City

"Salamon's breezy but sophisticated chapter book has New York down cold—street musicians, subway rats, ridiculous rents, and all... Weber's glossy, full-color spot illustrations have plenty of Greenwich Village quirk... A sweet love letter to New York, cats, and what it means to be 'home.'"—Booklist

"Bittersweet and meaningful, Cat in the City shows the solemnity and inevitability of change and the importance of finding a family and a home to call your own."—School Library Journal

"[Weber's] stylist spot illustrations are little love letters to the Big Apple that also capture the bohemian bonhomie of Pretty Boy's circle."—Publisher's Weekly

Dial Books, 9780803740563, 208pp.

Publication Date: September 4, 2014



About the Author

Julie Salamon is the author of several award-winning books for adults, including Wendy and the Lost Boys. Her writing has appeared in the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, The New Yorker, Vanity Fair, and more. This is her debut children’s book. She lives in Manhattan with her family.

Jill Weber lives on a farm in New Hampshire with her family and their pets. She has illustrated many books for adults and for children.