Little Dee and the Penguin (Paperback)

By Christopher Baldwin

Dial Books, 9780803741089, 128pp.

Publication Date: April 5, 2016

Other Editions of This Title:
Library Binding (4/5/2016)

List Price: 10.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Graphic novel fans will love this hilarious animal adventure by webcomic creator Christopher Baldwin—perfect for readers of Dan Santat’s Sidekicks, Ben Hatke’s Zita the Spacegirl, and Berkeley Breathed’s Bloom County

When Little Dee meets a motley crew of animals deep in the forest, she knows she’s found the perfect set of new friends. Between the bossy vulture, the slightly dim dog, the nurturing bear, and the happy-go-lucky penguin, this mismatched group of big personalities doesn’t always get along—but they’re a family.
 
And they’re on the run. A pair of hungry polar bears are after the penguin, and the rest of the team are determined to protect her. They’re not interested in adopting a tiny human. But Dee loves them—especially Ted the bear—and she won't let them go. Instead, she hops on their getaway plane and joins them on an around-the-world adventure.
 
This hilarious and heartwarming story is the perfect addition to any graphic novel reader’s library.


About the Author

Christopher Baldwin was born in Greenfield, MA, and started drawing comic strips around age 5, comic books around age 12, and webcomics in 1996. He's a regular contributor to Mad magazine, as well as an illustrator for educational children's books and newspaper serials. He also paints and cooks a mean pan of penuche fudge.


Praise For Little Dee and the Penguin

Praise for Little Dee and the Penguin

* "A fun-filled, zany story with a serious message about belonging . . . Those who love travel, adventure, learning about animals in remote parts of the world, and comics will enjoy this laugh-out-loud graphic novel. Baldwin's full-color illustrations appeal to all of the senses and keep the story moving—through travel by plane, raft, boat, and on foot, ahead of a pair of hungry polar bears all the way. A must-read for all would-be adventurers."—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* "This book is a winner." —School Library Journal, starred review

“Young readers will delight in the cartoonish full-color illustrations and round-the-world, fast-paced adventures while taking comfort in the final lesson—you need just love to make a family.”—Booklist

"Readers will enjoy the rollicking adventure." —BCCB