Wild Earth's Nobility (Paperback)

Book 1 Pike's Peak Trilogy

By Frank Waters, Joseph T. Gordon (Contribution by)

Swallow Press, 9780804010474, 256pp.

Publication Date: July 1, 2002

List Price: 19.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


The Wild Earth's Nobility is the first of Frank Waters's semiautobiographical novels in the Pikes Peak saga. Here, in a frontier town in the shadow of the commanding mountain, the Rogier family settles near an age-old route of migrating Native Americans. In an era of prospecting, silver strikes, and frenzied mining, Joseph Rogier becomes a successful building contractor, rears a large family, and is gradually overwhelmed by the power of the great peak. In Waters's visionary prose, the story becomes a mythic journey to reconcile instinct and reason, consciousness and intuition, and the powerful emotions of a family struggling with its own dreams and human limitations. Frank Waters (1902-1995), one of the finest chroniclers of the American Southwest, wrote twenty-eight works of fiction and nonfiction. Of Pike's Peak (1971), the Chicago Daily News wrote, It is a product of maturity, written with a sustained strength and beauty of style rarely found in fiction today. Pike's Peak is composed of three condensed novels: The Wild Earth's Nobility, Below Grass Roots, and The Dust within the Rock.

About the Author

Frank Waters (1902 1995), one of the finest chroniclers of the American Southwest, wrote twenty eight works of fiction and nonfiction."