The Collected Letters of Robinson Jeffers, with Selected Letters of Una Jeffers (Hardcover)

Volume Three, 1940-1962

By James Karman (Editor)

Stanford University Press, 9780804794671, 1024pp.

Publication Date: August 17, 2015

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (10/12/2011)
Hardcover (9/1/2009)

List Price: 100.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


This volume of correspondence, the last in a three-volume edition, spans a pivotal moment in American history: the mid-twentieth century, from the beginning of World War II, through the years of rebuilding and uneasy peace that followed, to the election of President John F. Kennedy. Robinson Jeffers published four important books during this period--Be Angry at the Sun (1941), Medea (1946), The Double Axe (1948), and Hungerfield (1954). He also faced changes to his hometown village of Carmel, experienced the rewards of being a successful dramatist in the United States and abroad, and endured the loss of his wife Una. Jeffers' letters, and those of Una written in the decade prior to her death, offer a vivid chronicle of the life and times of a singular and visionary poet.

About the Author

James Karman, Emeritus Professor of English and Religious Studies at California State University, Chico, is the author of Robinson Jeffers: Poet of California (1987).