Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry (Hardcover)

By Lynne Jonell, Jonathan Bean (Illustrator)

Henry Holt and Co. (BYR), 9780805091830, 384pp.

Publication Date: July 5, 2011

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Emmy was not an ordinary girl. She could talk to rodents. She could shrink to the size of a rodent. And just a few weeks ago, she had even become a rodent to defeat her evil former nanny, Miss Barmy.

Emmy's parents, unaware of their daughter's other life, ship her off to visit two elderly aunts in Schenectady. Emmy figures her life will be ordinary at last, if rather boring. But she didn't count on her friend Ratty, whose search for his long-lost Ratmom brings him more than he bargained for.

Here is the third book in the acclaimed Emmy series, complete with a flip book feature (bats!).



About the Author

Lynne Jonell is the author of the novels Emmy and the Incredible Shrinking Rat, Emmy and the Home for Troubled Girls, and The Secret of Zoom, as well as several critically acclaimed picture books. Her books have been named Junior Library Guild Selections and a Smithsonian Notable Book, among numerous other honors. Born in Little Falls, Minnesota, Jonell grew up in a suburb of Minneapolis. She now teaches writing at the Loft Literary Center and lives with her husband and two sons in Plymouth, Minnesota, in a house on a hill.

JONATHAN BEAN received an M.F.A. from New York's School of Visual Arts and now lives in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. A two-time winner of the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, for At Night and Building Our House, he is also the illustrator of Big Snow, two picture books by Lauren Thompson, and Bad Bye, Good Bye by Deborah Underwood.


Praise For Emmy and the Rats in the Belfry

“Highly entertaining plot ... Fans of Emmy and Raston will welcome their latest escapades.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Quirky, imaginative tale.” —School Library Journal