Skip to main content

The Snow's Music


Floyd Skloot


List Price: 45.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (9/15/2008)


The Snow's Music continues award-winning poet Floyd Skloot's lyrical and narrative explorations of memory, love, loss, and artistic expression. At once musical and precise, formal and fluid, Skloot's poems balance inner and outer vision, past and present experience, meditation and observation, humor and sadness. Skloot explores human resilience in the face of sudden change and radical shifts of perception that define creative endeavor when the world refuses to cohere.

Louisiana State University Press, 9780807133392, 54pp.

Publication Date: September 15, 2008

About the Author

Floyd Skloot has published five previous books of poetry, including The End of Dreams, which LSU Press published in 2006, and Approximately Paradise, winner of a Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Book Award; four novels; and an essay collection. His trilogy of memoirs includes In the Shadow of Memory, winner of the PEN Center USA Literary Award; its sequel, A World of Light, named an Editor's Choice selection by the New York Times Book Review; and The Wink of the Zenith (fall 2008). He lives in Portland, Oregon. For more information, visit