Skip to main content

The Boxcar Children Early Reader Set #1 (The Boxcar Children

Time to Read, Level 2)

Shane Clester (Illustrator), Gertrude Chandler Warner


List Price: 14.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (4/1/2021)


Start reading with the Boxcar Children! This set includes the first four books of Gertrude Chandler Warner’s classic series, adapted for beginning readers—The Boxcar Children, Surprise Island, The Yellow House Mystery, and Mystery Ranch.

Albert Whitman & Company, 9780807508329, 208pp.

Publication Date: November 1, 2019

About the Author

Largely self-taught, Shane has been a professional illustrator since 2005. He began working in comics and storyboards before transitioning to his true passion—children’s books. Shane lives in Florida with his wife and two children. Gertrude Chandler Warner grew up in Putnam, Connecticut. She wrote The Boxcar Children because she had always dreamed about what it would be like to live in a caboose or a freight car—just as the Aldens do. When readers asked for more adventures, Warner wrote more books—a total of nineteen in all. After her death, other authors have continued to write stories about Henry, Jessie, Violet, and Benny Alden, and today the Boxcar Children series has more than one hundred books.