The Later Works of John Dewey, Volume 13, 1925 - 1953 (Hardcover)

1938-1939, Experience and Education, Freedom and Culture, Theory of Valuation, and Essays (Collected Works of John Dewey #13)

By John Dewey, Jo Ann Boydston (Editor), Steven M, Cahn (Introduction by)

Southern Illinois University Press, 9780809314256, 616pp.

Publication Date: February 21, 1988

List Price: 75.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


This volume includes all Dewey’s writings for 1938 except for Logic: The Theory of Inquiry (Volume 12 of The Later Works), as well as his 1939 Freedom and Culture, Theory of Valuation, and two items from Intelligence in the Modern World.


Freedom and Culture presents, as Steven M. Cahn points out, “the essence of his philosophical position: a commitment to a free society, critical intelligence, and the education required for their advance.”

About the Author

Steven M. Cahn is Professor of Philosophy and Provost in the Graduate School of the City University of New York. His most recent book is "Saints and Scamps: Ethics in Academia."Jo Ann Boydston is Distinguished Professor at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale and Director of the Center for Dewey Studies.Barbara Levine is a staff member of the Center."