Skip to main content

Beneath the Mask

The Grassland Trilogy: Book Two

David Ward


List Price: 16.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


A continuing saga of danger, bravery, and unexpected friendships
After escaping from their lives as slaves and from the deadly warriors called Spears, Corki and Pippa and their new friends believe they’re destined for a better, free life. But when their plan to leave Grassland is thwarted, they find themselves in the grips of a new trial: the Separation. At this horrible event they learn the answer to one of Grassland’s biggest puzzles: What lurks beneath the masks of the warrior Spears?
Forced apart from his beloved Pippa and into a life he despises, Corki finds that there’s more than one way to be trapped. When he and the other former prisoners are offered a comfortable life—clothes, their own homes, a community—in exchange for committing unspeakable deeds, Corki must decide what he truly values and what he’s willing to do to protect it. Full of heart-stopping action, Beneath the Mask continues the story of Corki, Pippa, and the expanding world of Grassland.

F&P level: X
F&P genre: F

Amulet Books, 9780810970748, 272pp.

Publication Date: August 1, 2008

About the Author

David Ward was born in Montreal and grew up in Vancouver. He was an elementary school teacher for eleven years before completing his master's degree. He is the author of the Grassland trilogy and is a writer and university instructor in children's literature. He lives in Portland, Oregon, with his wife and their three children.