The Theatre of Tennessee Williams Volume V (Paperback)

The Milk Train Doesn't Stop Here Anymore, Kingdom of Earth, Small Craft Warnings, the Two-Character Play (New Directions Paperbook #736)

By Tennessee Williams

New Directions Publishing Corporation, 9780811211376, 380pp.

Publication Date: September 17, 1990

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (9/17/1990)
Hardcover (1/17/1976)
Hardcover (11/1/1971)
Paperback (9/17/1990)

List Price: 27.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


The Theatre of Tennessee Williams brings together in a matching format the plays of one of America's most influential and innovative dramatists. Arranged in chronological order, this ongoing series includes the original cast listings and production notes. Volume 1 leads with Battle of Angels, Williams' first produced play (1940), an early version of Orpheus Descending. This is followed by the texts of his first great popular successes: The Glass Menagerie (1945) and the Pulitzer Prize-winning A Streetcar Named Desire (1947), which established Williams's reputation once and for all as a genius of the modern American theatre.