Skip to main content
Cover for Generals of the Army

Generals of the Army

Marshall, Macarthur, Eisenhower, Arnold, Bradley (American Warriors)

James H. Willbanks (Editor), Gordon R. Sullivan (Foreword by)


List Price: 30.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Formally titled "General of the Army," the five-star general is the highest possible rank awarded in the U.S. Army in modern times and has been awarded to only five men in the nation's history: George C. Marshall, Douglas MacArthur, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Henry H. Arnold, and Omar N. Bradley. In addition to their rank, these distinguished soldiers all shared the experience of serving or studying at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, where they gained the knowledge that would prepare them for command durin.

University Press of Kentucky, 9780813142135, 264pp.

Publication Date: May 1, 2013

About the Author

James H. Willbanks is General of the Armies George C. Marshall Chair of Military History and director of the department of military history at the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College at Fort Leavenworth. He is a retired Lieutenant Colonel with twenty-three years of service as an Infantry officer.