Skip to main content

Randomly Moving Particles

Poems (Pitt Poetry Series)

Andrew Motion


List Price: 17.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.


Randomly Moving Particles is built from two long poems that form its opening and close, connected by three shorter pieces. The title poem, in a kaleidoscope of compelling scenes, engages with subjects that include migration, placement, loss, space exploration,and current British and American politics. It is a clarifying action and reaction between terra and solar system, mundanity and possibility, taking us from the grit of road surfaces to the distant glimpses of satellites. The final poem, “How Do the Dead Walk,”combines mythic reach with acute observation of the familiar, in order to address issues of contemporary violence. It is altogether more dreamlike, even in its tangibly military moments, grasping as it does at phantoms and intermediate plains.Andrew Motion’s expansive new poetry collection is direct in its emotional appeal and ambitious in its scope, all while retaining the cinematic vision and startling expression that so freshly lit the lines of his last, Essex Clay.

Praise For Randomly Moving Particles: Poems (Pitt Poetry Series)

Past Praise for Andrew Motion: “Unpredictable, unsentimentally elegant, Motion has inherited all the rhythmic and narrative genius of Robert Frost. ‘I stamp both feet and disappear in a cloud,’ he announces in Fresh Water. Lucky for us, he's speaking metaphorically.” --Martha Silano

University of Pittsburgh Press, 9780822966555, 120pp.

Publication Date: March 23, 2021

About the Author

Andrew Motion is professor of creative writing at Royal Holloway and Bedford New College, University of London and was Poet Laureate of Great Britain from 1999 to 2009. He is the author of many works of poetry, fiction, and biography including Keats, which is also available from the University of Chicago Press.