Flip, Float, Fly (Hardcover)

Seeds on the Move

By Joann Early Macken, Pam Paparone (Illustrator)

Holiday House, 9780823420438, 32pp.

Publication Date: March 15, 2008

Other Editions of This Title:
Paperback (8/15/2016)

List Price: 17.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Explore how seeds travel from the plants they form on to the places they'll grow!
 
Spinning like a shiny green helicopter, a maple seed floats on the wind. Where will it land? Seeds splash away in raindrops, slide across the snow, and hitch rides on birds and animals—and even people's clothing.
 
For anyone who's ever blown the fluff of a dandelion and wondered where it went, this is the perfect introduction to plant life cycles and seed dispersals for young readers. The simple, poetic text is paired with detailed illustrations and close-ups of seeds, pods, and other parts of plants.
 
A brief illustrated glossary and a note on why seeds travel so far is included. Perfect for fans of Gail Gibbons' From Seed to Plant.


About the Author

JoAnn Early Macken has written dozens of books for young readers including poetry, picture books, beginning readers, and nonfiction. Her "Sing-Along Song" illustrated by LeUyen Pham was chosen for the Texas 2 x 2 Reading List. She lives in Wisconsin with her family.

Pam Paparone has both written and illustrated books for children. Kirkus Reviews praised the "bright, elegant acrylics" she created for D. Anne Love’s "Of Numbers and Stars: The Story of Hypatia". She lives in Pennsylvania.


Praise For Flip, Float, Fly: Seeds on the Move

"Paparone's bright, realistic acrylics present clear pictures of the featured seeds in their natural dispersals . . . [an] inviting introduction"—School Library Journal
 
"Satisfying, and well designed for both classroom sharing and individual reading."—Booklist