The Undoing of Thistle Tate (Hardcover)

By Katelyn Detweiler

Margaret Ferguson Books, 9780823442393, 272pp.

Publication Date: July 23, 2019

List Price: 17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Famous teen author Thistle Tate struggles to keep her biggest secret: the real identity of the author of her bestselling books.

Thistle Tate is a glittering wunderkind--only seventeen, and a bestselling author of the wildly successful Lemonade Skies series, with the highly anticipated final book due to publish next year. She has diehard fans across the globe, flashy tours, and steep advances. And now she's finally started to date her best friend and next-door-neighbor, Liam, the only one who knows her deep dark secret: she's not the real author of the Lemonade Skies books.

Thistle's guilt about lying intensifies after she meets the surprisingly charming Oliver, who introduces her to his super-fan little sister--but how can she have friendships based on deception? All she wants is for this last book to be written so she can be done with the ruse for good.

Then with just two weeks left to deliver the manuscript to her agent and editor, a dramatic turn of events puts everything in jeopardy, and Thistle must grapple with her own identity. Is she a victim, a fraudster, or both? On top of that, Liam is increasingly jealous of Thistle's budding friendship with Oliver--a friendship that leaves Thistle more than a little confused about her own heart.

As the book deadline looms closer, the stakes ever higher, a startling family truth comes to light, and it's only a matter of time before something gives--and Thistle's world becomes undone.

For fans of Rainbow Rowell and E. Lockhart, this YA is the perfect summer read for teen bookworms everywhere, with a love triangle, an insider's depiction of the publishing world, and nonstop, page-turning action.


About the Author

Katelyn Detweiler has written two novels, Transcendent and Immaculate, and is a literary agent. She lives in Brooklyn, NY.


Praise For The Undoing of Thistle Tate

"This book is perfect for readers struggling with questions of how far to go to protect those you love. Detweiler, a literary agent and author, knows both sides of publishing, and it shows, giving this novel an extra oomph of realism. Thistle is affable and easy to commiserate with, and, despite her increasingly complicated situation, her plight is lovingly and respectfully written." —Booklist

"[A]n intriguing tale about honesty and family . . . the emotional journey is satisfying."—Kirkus Reviews

"Tense and gripping, The Undoing of Thistle Tate explores how secrets and lies can define a life—and how the power of real human connection is the only way to fight back."—Leila Sales, author of This Song Will Save Your Life

"Fandom-savvy readers may enjoy Thistle’s insights into the book business and the drama of her complicated life." —School Library Journal