Skip to main content
Cover for Zix Zexy Ztories (Modern Jewish Literature and Culture)

Zix Zexy Ztories (Modern Jewish Literature and Culture)

Curt Leviant

Hardcover

List Price: 24.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

In Curt Leviant's wry, funny tales of love and desire set in various locales--the deep South, Boston, New York, Italy, Israel--the protagonists are men, women, guys and gals of various backgrounds and ages. Some are teenagers; others are students, writers, salesmen, teachers; there's even a great-grandfather in the mix. We meet Holocaust survivors, a pretty petty thief, a playwright, students on vacation, a Polish gentile woman in love with Jewish history, a non-Jewish Holocaust historian, a book salesman, a Yiddish artist, a synagogue architect, a secretary at Harvard, and other delectable characters. What unites all these disparate people is the universal desire for love and affection--some claw, some snag, others just wait. And some even succeed. Leviant's newest collection stands alongside his substantial oeuvre in the vein of Bellow, Singer, Kafka--a place they're likely to remain for a long, long time. Also 04 Activeable in e-book formats, ISBN 978-0-89672-802-8.

Texas Tech University Press, 9780896727724, 152pp.

Publication Date: December 10, 2012



About the Author

Curt Leviant is the author of seven critically acclaimed novels. His stories have appeared in many American magazines and have been included in Best American Stories and Prize Stories: the O. Henry Awards and other anthologies.