Skip to main content
Cover for Eagle 53 My Ultimate Musical Tuning

Eagle 53 My Ultimate Musical Tuning

Third Edition The Mathematics Behind Eagle 53

John O'Sullivan


List Price: 11.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


This book is about a new 12 notes per octave tuning called Eagle 53. This tuning was designed to improve on, and replace, the standard Western tuning: 12 Tone Equal Temperament. It took the author 21 years of hard research to work it out. Some notes are higher than usual and some lower in varying degrees. Major or minor chords are not available on three of the twelve notes but where they *do* occur they are much more, almost perfectly, in tune. There are good chords available on every note. Also some new and exotic chords and scales occur that you won't get in regular tuning. Eagle 53 tuning is suitable for pianos and MIDI keyboards that can be retuned with the right software and for guitars and other stringed and fretted instruments (which need refretting to accommodate the new tuning). This book describes how the author worked it out, the rationale behind Eagle 53. Just Intonation is also covered in the book. Eagle 53 is a slightly tempered version of a just tuning, Eagle J.I. which looks like this:
1/1, 16/15, 9/8, 6/5, 5/4, 4/3, 7/5, 3/2, 8/5, 5/3, 9/5, 15/8, 2/1
The '53' refers to 53EDO (53 Equal Divisions of the Octave). Eagle 53 is a 12 note subset of 53EDO.
The author's web site has music, pictures and information related to Eagle 53. For the web site address (if you are on an Amazon page) see the "More about the author > Biography" section below.
Click on "Visit Amazon's John O'Sullivan Page" in this section to see a video of the author playing an Eagle 53 guitar.
There is a condensed, older and cheaper eBook version of this book available on Amazon. The title of the eBook is: Eagle 53 Musical Tuning. ASIN: B07DKTK9DX

Pan Music Publishing, 9780956649294, 98pp.

Publication Date: June 15, 2020