7 in 7 (Paperback)

A Globe-Hopping Memoir of Disaster and Discovery

By Sven Michael Davison

Bedouin Press, 9780966614930, 256pp.

Publication Date: May 15, 2018

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (5/15/2018)

List Price: 19.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.

Description

Wrestling priests, Antarctic swimming, bleeding lungs, Christmas tsunamis... want to come traveling with me? 7 in 7: A Globe-Hopping Memoir of Disaster and Discovery, is a memoir about Sven Michael Davison's adventures as a soul-searching workaholic who set a goal to experience all seven continents in seven years as a true anthropologist, not just a travel-merit badge winner. Through those years he stumbled into and out of relationships, contracted pulmonary edema in Peru, and summited Shackleton's peak on South Georgia Island. He learned why the Irish value a good craic while Scandinavians cherish lagom, witnessed the difficult truths of life in a Moroccan orphanage, and ultimately met his wife. Along the way he had plenty of time to contemplate the different ways people pursue happiness- or, sometimes the reasons they don't. 7 in 7 is for anyone who engages in inner and outer adventure. It sits comfortably in the tradition of Bill Bryson's A Walk in the Woods and In a Sunburned Country. It expresses the honesty Chuck Thompson demands in Smile When You're Lying. There are also overtones of Kristin Newman in What I Was doing While You Were Breeding, and J. Maarten Troost's Lost on Planet China.


About the Author

About the Author: Sven Michael Davison is an award-winning author who lives in Carlsbad, California with his wife and son. He is best known for his post-cyberpunk God Head trilogy, which looks at the darker side of singularity theory, mass effect, and artificial intelligence. He is also a former Hollywood Studio executive and currently the host of the YouTube channel Author/Author where he interviews writers on various industry related topics. Sven writes when he can and works when he must. 7 in 7: A Globe-Hopping Memoir of Disaster and Discovery is his sixth book.