Then Came Edgar (Paperback)

By Tom Buford

Quiet Place Media, 9780970810359, 294pp.

Publication Date: October 31, 2018

List Price: 13.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.


What happens when the tallest man to ever grace the porch on Brown's General Store stops for a single night in Morgan Crossroads, Alabama?

He and his dog Spotlight (whose parts don't all work exactly right) move on, but not without leaving behind them the seeds that will forever change the lives of Morgan Crossroads's most beloved residents.

Nearly all of the tales that are told among the women in Polly's House of Beauty or the men on the front porch of Brown's General Store have at least a morsel of truth in them. The trick is to figure out which do and which don't.

When Marcella and her life-long friend Eva Jo Clomper take off on an unannounced bus ride to Texas with nothing but a pile of luggage and Marcella's wish to bring back the past, the Morgan Crossroads gossip lines light up.

The women and men both have something new to figure out. What exactly are two single women whose age is somewhere north of seventy doing on a westbound Greyhound?

You'll fall in love with Morgan Crossroads, Alabama. In fact, with no Walmart, a traffic light that works most of the time, and Dora Mae Crawford's occasionally correct version of the news in her Whipper County Gazette, you may just decide to move there.

Then Came Edgar is the first book in the Morgan Crossroads series of clean small town and rural fiction from author Tom Buford.