The Growth of a Shadow (Paperback)

Selected Poems of Taejoon Moon

By Taejoon Moon, Won-Chung Kim (Translated by), Christopher Merrill (Translated by)

Autumn Hill Books, 9780982746639, 84pp.

Publication Date: January 20, 2012

List Price: 8.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


A collection of 71 poems by Korean author Taejoon Moon, these selected works bring a deeper meaning to the ordinary aspects of everyday life through Moon’s keen observations of his surroundings combined with his use of rich details. Inviting a different level of understanding, these observations—from a woman struggling with cancer to a flower dying in a pot to a herd of black goats—demonstrate Moon’s profound engagement with the world around him and encourages the same in his readers. Not only displaying an appreciation of the beauty and simplicity of everyday life, this collection also illustrates contemporary Korean literature and society with minimally elegant style.

About the Author

Taejoon Moon has received the East and West Literary Award, the Nojak Literary Award, the Yoosim Literary Award, the Soweol Literary Award, and the Midang Literary Award. He is the author of "Flatfish," "Murmuring Backyard," and "Naked Foot." Won-Chung Kim has translated eight books of Korean poetry into English, including "Heart's Agony," and translated "My First Summer in the Sierra "into Korean from English. Christopher Merrill directs the University of Iowa's International Writing Program and is the author of "Brilliant Water "and "Things of the Hidden God." He lives in Iowa City, Iowa.