Other Heartbreaks (Paperback)

By Patricia Henley

Engine Books, 9780983547723, 173pp.

Publication Date: November 11, 2011

Other Editions of This Title:
Hardcover (10/1/2011)

List Price: 14.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.


"Throughout her powerful story collection, Other Heartbreaks, Patricia Henley lays bare the souls of women coping with the ache of losing love."--O, The Oprah Magazine

This collection of elegant, moving stories explores the bonds and betrayals among women. Patricia Henley's characters make their way through grief and discovery, revealing the power of their hearts and of the landscapes where they reside.

Patricia Henley's first novel Hummingbird House was a finalist for the National Book Award. Her second novel In the River Sweet was named a Best Book of the Year by the Chicago Tribune and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch.

About the Author

Patricia Henley's first novel, Hummingbird House, was a finalist for the National Book Award in 1999 and the New Yorker Fiction Prize in 2000. Her second novel, In the River Sweet, was published by Pantheon in 2002 and released in paperback in 2004. Her publications also include three collections of stories, Friday Night at Silver Star, The Secret of Cartwheels, and Worship of the Common Heart. She has taught in the MFA program at Purdue since 1987.